Basic Brunches does SKINNYPIZZA

I know what you’re thinking. Skinny and pizza have no right to be used in the same sentence. I promise you, here it works. SKINNYPIZZA, the healthy organic version of pizza, recently popped up in the Addison Circle area. Those being my stomping grounds I needed to stop by.

SKINNYPIZZA is more than just pizza. Many items on the menu are vegan and/or gluten-free. The crusts, which are what makes the pizzas skinny, are made with no preservatives. The sauces, which you have a choice of three, are 100% organic. The best part, the cheeses, are all natural and all the toppings are antibiotic and hormone-free.

20170511_123816-001

But remember I said it’s more than just pizza? You can build your own pasta bowl, they have signature salads and soups on the menu, along with piadas, which are the Italian version of a burrito.

When I went in I wasn’t really sure what menu item I was feeling so I decided…”why decide?” and got both pasta and pizza. Dream big people. Don’t let the rules of society keep you down! You order your pizza with a side of pasta if you want to.

Breaking it down.

Pizza: Skinny Formaggio

20170511_124030-001

Original skinny crust, ricotta cheese, fresh mozzarella cheese, spinach, fresh basil (topped with some part-skim mozzarella cause why not add more cheese)

What I like about the pizzas at SKINNYPIZZA is the fact that although you are eating an entire personal sized pizza, it doesn’t weigh you down afterward. Hence the skinny part. The crust is so thin that it crisps up real nicely, enough that when you pick up your slice it doesn’t go all soggy on you. Plus you really can’t go wrong with an all cheese pizza.

Pasta: Organic Fusilli with Pomodoro Sauce and Fresh Basil

20170511_123801-001

Like any carb lover, I enjoy a hearty serving of pasta. The amount that you get is really enough for 2 servings so, score leftovers! I can’t think of any “fast-food” pasta place off the top of my head so I’m glad to have the option somewhere. Sometimes you just want a big bowl of pasta and you don’t want to have to go to the OG to get it. I would absolutely eat the pasta again.

If you’re looking for a hidden gem in the Addison area, because let’s face it Addison is packed with food, go to the circle and hit up SKINNYPIZZA. It’s just removed from the hustle and bustle of the bar area that you can get a quick and fresh lunch or dinner with a nice scenic view.

 

Leave a Reply

