Basic Brunches Makes Mother’s Day Brunch

Mother’s Day. Normally a day that I curate a bunch of different places to recommend you take your mother (or mother figure) to brunch. But, I’ve recently realized how much I hate Mother’s Day Brunch. It’s basic because that’s literally what everyone else does. It’s expensive because restaurants know they can charge and arm and a leg for the one day they know everyone is going to brunch. And prefix menus. On a whole, I don’t have an issue with prefix menu, but on a day when everyone is out, I wanna get what I want not what you tell me I can have. That’s why this year I decided to bring brunch to my mom.

That’s right. I made brunch. And not just me. I employed my father and brother in this endeavor too. Mainly because my brother never helps with anything, so this time I was forcing him to.

IMG_0532

The menu:

  • Fruit salad
  • Oriental Salad
  • Bacon
  • Strawberry and Cheese Puffs (store bought)
  • Scrambled Egg Stuffed Puff Pastry
  • Pineapple Orange Creamsicle Mimosa

I wanted a good balance of heavy and light dishes when I was deciding on the menu.

IMG_0523-001.JPG

Fruit salad was on my brother to make. I gave him the super easy stuff. It was strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and watermelon. Fun fact! My brother is not kitchen-wise, he doesn’t know his way around a knife, he asked if he had to wash the strawberries.

Bacon was on my dad. A good old dad dish to make.

I made the oriental salad I made of Megan’ bridal shower and the puff pastry. I’ve only played with puff pastry once before so I was slight intimidated by the process. This was the main dish and I didn’t want to screw it up completely. I will say I did a good job. I found the recipes on Pinterest from Jo Cooks. I only made two alterations to it. First, I added a handful of spinach to add another veggie. Second, I don’t like swiss cheese, I was gonna replace it with gouda but then I found a smoked swiss at the store so I went with that instead. Not bad.

The pineappleĀ orange creamsicle mimosa was a new one for me. Another Pinterest recipe found off of 3 Yummy Tummies. The only change I made here was I did Prosecco instead of Moscato because that is what I already had on hand.

IMG_0527-001.JPG

All in all, this homemade brunch was a success. Mom was happy which is all that matters. I got everyone to help with made me happy, which also matters. And we didn’t have to worry about the bill, or how quickly we needed to leave the restaurant or crowds. To me, homemade meals convey more love than spending lavish amounts of money on brunch.

IMG_0534-001

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there! Including my own.

2015-10-04 19.09.44.jpg

Leave a Reply

